On September 1st, 2015, New Jersey’s car seat laws are changing.
Did you know that according to the NHTSA, motor vehicle crashes are a leading cause of death for children age 1 to 13 in the USA? The fatality rate could be reduced by about half if the correct child safety seat were always used.
New Jersey’s New 2015 Car Seat Laws – What You Need to Know
- Children who are under the age of 2 or under 30 lbs must be in a rear-facing car seat that has a five-point harness. When your child reaches 2 years old or hits the 30lb mark, you can turn them around to a forward facing seat.
- Children ages 2-4 must stay in a rear or forward facing car seat that has a five-point harness. When they hit the age of 4 or 40lbs they can move to a booster seat.
- Your child must remain in a booster seat until they are either 8 years old or 57 inches. At this point, they can use the regular adult seat belts.
- Because the force of air bags can injure children if they are to deploy, if they are riding in a vehicle that does not have a back seat, you must disable the passenger side airbags.
Fines for violating the new car seat law’s are now $50-75 and following the manufacturer’s recommendations will no longer get you out of a violation in court.
Mercer County Sheriff’s Office
Colonial Fire Company
810 Kuser Road
Hamilton, NJ 08619
Hours: Last Tuesday each month; 4:30PM-8PM
Hillsborough Volunteer Fire Company #2
375 US HIGHWAY 206
Hillsborough, NJ 08844
First Saturday of each month (10AM-1:30PM); Third Wednesday of each month (3-6PM)